National Harbours Board.—The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936. It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at Halifax, Saint John, Chicoutimi, Quebec, Trois Rivières, Montreal, Vancouver and Churchill, the Jacques Cartier and Champlain bridges at Montreal Harbour, and the government grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The Board is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Research Council.—In 1917 the Research Council Act was passed and in 1928 laboratories for scientific research were established at Ottawa. The National Research Council now has Divisions of Pure and Applied Chemistry, Building Research, Mechanical Engineering, the National Aeronautical Establishment, Radio and Electrical Engineering, Pure and Applied Physics, Applied Biology and Medical Research. Regional laboratories have been established at Saskatoon. Sask., and Halifax, N.S.

Patentable processes and improvements developed by the Council are made available under licence to industry through a Crown company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited, and any profits from the licensing arrangements are used for further research and development.

The National Research Council reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research (at present the Minister of Trade and Commerce).

Northern Canada Power Commission.—The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 to bring electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self-sustaining basis. The Act was amended in 1950 to give authority to the Commission to provide similar services in Yukon Territory; the name of the Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was changed in 1956. The Commission is composed of a chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council to operates hydro-electric plants on the Snare River in the Northwest Territories and on the Yukon River (near Whitehorse) and the Mayo River in Yukon Territory. An additional hydro plant is under construction on the Snare River 10 miles downstream from the Snare Rapids plant. The Commission operates diesel-electric plants at Fort Smith, Fort Simpson, Yellowknife and Inuvik, N.W.T., and at Field, B.C.; a small diesel plant for the school and hostel at Fort McPherson, N.W.T., and a Department of Transport diesel-electric plant at Frobisher Bay, N.W.T.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources reports to Parliament for the Commission.

Northern Transportation Company Limited.—This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta statute, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited since that Crown company was established and carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research (at present the Minister of Trade and Commerce).

Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation.—This Corporation was established by the Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation Act (SC 1956, c. 10) for the purpose of constructing the northern Ontario section of the all-Canadian natural gas pipeline and of leasing, with an option to purchase, this section to Trans-Canada Pipe Lines Limited. In addition, the Corporation was authorized to make short-term loans to Trans-Canada Pipe Lines Limited for the construction of the western section of the pipeline. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Pipeline installation on the northern Ontario section, which extends from the Manitoba-Ontario border to the vicinity of Kapuskasing, Ont., was completed on Oct. 22, 1958.

Park Steamship Company Limited.—After World War II this Company acted as an agent for Crown Assets Disposal Corporation in the sale and delivery to purchasers of Government warbuilt ships. This work is completed but the Company remains available to carry out any appropriate duties. It has no staff of its own, any necessary work being done by the staff of the Canadian Maritime Commission (see p. 137). The Company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Polymer Corporation Limited.—This Corporation was established in 1942 by Letters Patent under the Companies Act and is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (RSC 1952, c. 133) and the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). It was set up to construct and operate a synthetic rubber plant which now produces a variety of synthetic rubber products and some chemicals. The plant is located at Sarnia, Ont. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority.—The St. Lawrence Seaway Authority was established by Act of Parliament in 1951 (RSC 1952, c. 242) and came into force by proclamation on July 1, 1954. The Authority is incorporated for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating all such works as may be necessary to provide and maintain, either wholly in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie. The Authority is composed of a President, a Vice-President and a Member and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.